🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Job postings with seriously low rates should ...
Page options
ehsan_b
Community Member

Job postings with seriously low rates should not be allowed

Hello

Hope you are all doing good.

I am a freelancer from Pakistan. Been a Freelancer on upwork from 3 years. Have met some wonderful persons.I have worked on many freelance platforms but upwork is the best one because on upwork freelancers are treated as persons.

Today i saw a Job offer from United states the client was looking for SEO Digital Marketing Manager full time with html skills.

5 days a week and 8 hours per day.

So quick maths.

8*5=40 hours per week

If we say there are 4 weeks in a month

40*4=160

So a freelancer will be working for them 160 hours and according to upwork minimum hourly rate Policy that freelancer should be paid atleast $3/hour. So that freelancer should be paid $480/hour But the Client had clearly stated that person will be paid $250 per month. So freelancer is getting $1.56 per hour.

I think upwork should not allow such postings and under "Flag as inappropriate" there should be option of "Client offering less payment".

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

34 REPLIES 34
nkocendova
Community Member

Hi Muhammad,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, our team will review the job posting.

~Nina
e_luneborg
Community Member

There is a very quick and easy way to deal with this. Just don't apply for the job.

I really don't understand why so many freelancers are spending so much time getting frustrated over the rates clients want to pay. Either apply for the job or don't. If Upwork reviews the posting and removes it or not, who cares. Just find another job with rates you are willing to work for. 

Well I haven't applied and i never apply for jobs i mostly work with my previous clients.