🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » 1
Page options
Paul Albert E Community Member

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Chester O Community Member

Sorry. He sent you a PNG file which is pixelated. Now it is getting complicated. Actually I am a designer and I know vector files can be scaled without loosing quality if what you did was redraw the PNG to vector, then you deserve your payment. Yes he may have the plan to run away with the Ai file, but you are not certain, you still need to deliver work for payment no matter what, we can only hope he actually pays. I will advice you, avoid fixed jobs. I went through this and thank Goodness I have recovered from it. I only do hourly contract now, so no matter what I will get paid. Just try to reason with him and send the illustrator file I believe he will pay you.

View solution in original post

35 REPLIES 35
Amanda L Community Member

Based on your screenshots it sounds like he was trying to pay you the original milestone and add milestones for revision. It sounds like you jumped the gun, and the client actually backed off more than once and agreed to keep working with you even when it wasn't quite what he wanted. 

It seems like you jumped the gun in accusing him of bad faith, instead of just asking what he was intending with the new milestones and clarifying with him that the original milestone needed to be paid. I actually agree with the client in this instance. He even tried to pay you the original milestone and close the job, but you convinced him to keep going. Your tone with him is off putting. Presuming he's treating you poorly versus just stating what you need to keep working (please release the first milestone and I'll happily address these additional revisions, thanks!) just set you up for a poor outcome . I cannot recommend enough that freelancers take a conflict resolution course or at least read about it and implement it as a wrap around skill.