🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » About using telegram or skype
Page options
27fc8aa7
Community Member

About using telegram or skype

Hey guys!

I am new to Upwork here and have applied for some jobs. I have received some jobs offer but some of them are communicating through telegram and asking me to pay security fees. I am assuming that they are scammers and I have ignored them. Can clients also use skype for job interviews? Just like to know your opinions and which jobs are genuine jobs? thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Only communicate using Upwork's call feature, or through messages. All others are not allowed until after a contract is in place. If someone insists you to communicate off of Upwork, they are almost certainly a scammer. And yes, there are tons of scam jobs here, especially in data entry.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Those are all scams. 

petra_r
Community Member

Communication outside of Upwork before a contract is in place is strictly forbidden. Do NOT violate Upwork's terms of use by communicating outside of Upwork with prospective clients, if you do, you're not only in danger of getting scammed but can also get your account suspended.

Read this!

27fc8aa7
Community Member

So all other third party medias are not allowed to be used? Not even skype or whatsapp etc?

Upwork provides all means necessary to communicate with clients before being hired (chat, call, video chat).

Why didn't you know that communication off of Upwork isn’t allowed until after a contract has been set up and how could Upwork have made you better aware this it before this happened to you?

27fc8aa7
Community Member

It is strange how they have given me the job but I noticed that the contract was not accepted on upwork

yofazza
Community Member

This place is currently infested with scam posts.

Take read on this thread: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...