🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asking me to install digital finance s...
Page options
ehsanul_hoq
Community Member

Client asking me to install digital finance software to do a writing project

Hi all,

I have come across a certain issue. One of my recent clients hired me and assigned me a quick job very recently. However, before assigning future projects he wants me to have digital finance software installed. He wants the software to be fully functional using VPN although such software is banned in my country. 

Although he is claiming that it's not for trading purposes but is there any chance that this can create trouble for me. I've already said to the client that I am just a writer so it's not possible for me to create functional digital accounts just to write blogs.

Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9
petra_r
Community Member

Mohammed Ehsanul H wrote:

...such software is banned in my country. 

...is there any chance that this can create trouble for me.

Doesn't this answer your own question?

Hi Petra.

Thanks for your reply. I know the question might sound silly when I said 'such software is banned in my country. '. But as a freelancer making a decision to return a client is also difficult since he is asking me to use a VPN. So, when I saw your response I felt more confident about the next steps. I have refused to use any external software that is banned in my country for writing work. 

Thanks again.

re: "He wants the software to be fully functional using VPN although such software is banned in my country."

I thought that was pretty funny, actually.

The financial software MAY INDEED BE BANNED in his country. Bangladesh does indeed ban certain websites that are widely used elsewhere, and certain software.

But if the original poster is referring to VPN... It is just a myth that VPN is banned in Bangladesh. VPN is perfectly legal there.