🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client suddenly ended contract without paying...
Page options
meganw93
Community Member

Client suddenly ended contract without paying for work done

Hi all,

I'm new to Upwork and my first client has just suddenly ended the contract. I've logged 8 hours of work. He was supposed to pay me 0.35c per blurb and I wrote 164 on a short deadline. We were supposed to go through edits but he's just suddenly ended the contract.

I honestly feel that I've been scammed and thought working through this site would protect me from that. What is the way forward?

Many thanks.

9 REPLIES 9
petra_r
Community Member

Megan W wrote:

Hi all,

I'm new to Upwork and my first client has just suddenly ended the contract. I've logged 8 hours of work. He was supposed to pay me 0.35c per blurb and I wrote 164 on a short deadline. We were supposed to go through edits but he's just suddenly ended the contract.

You will get paid automatically for the 8 hours of work if you tracked or logged them correctly. You are protected if you use the system as it is intended. If you don't, (promised extra money for blurbs are not protected) then you can lose out.

abinadab-agbo
Community Member

Working through this site will protect you.

If you watch your back.

Did you submit work before you made sure you had billed the full amount due him?

tlbp
Community Member

If you used the time tracker, make sure that you have included a memo describing the work in the section provided for that purpose in your work diary. time tracker.png

prestonhunter
Community Member

Megan, clients may end contracts at any time. This is fine. A client who ends a contract without notifying us is not breaking any rules.

More importantly, this does not prevent us from being paid.

If I hire a freelancer using an hourly contract, I can end the contract at any time and the freelancer will be paid AUTOMATICALLY for all of the time that she logged.