🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Fraud Contracts
Page options
2470f6ca
Community Member

Fraud Contracts

Hello, I am a freelance graphic designer and try to find a jobs in Upwork.

The last two contracts that I had were strange.

The first send me a zip folder where inside I found an .exe.

They told me that this was for secure the word file I run it but still could not ope the file.

The  asked me to enter in my PC to help me run it.

I was so stupid and let them my PC was empty with no files.

Quickly I realised that it was fraud I reported it and Upwork canceled the contract.

What can I do to protect myself from these cases?

When a folder from the client could be secure?

Thanks in advance.

Marina

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
the-right-writer
Community Member

First, never, ever open an exe. file! These are random strangers that you are giving access to everything in your computer, and your computer.

You need to learn how Upwork functions before you lose everything. Please read this post and follow every single link. Pay special attention to the Terms of Service and the Red Flags on Scams from Wes.

Your profile needs work. You need a complete profile not only for clients, but to show the scammers you are not naive. Right now, your profile says you are an easy target.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
cca13f63
Community Member

If I were in your shoes, I would install a new window on my laptop. Remember that you opened the .exe file, meaning they MAY be listening to your keyboard strokes and can get any information they want.

the-right-writer
Community Member

First, never, ever open an exe. file! These are random strangers that you are giving access to everything in your computer, and your computer.

You need to learn how Upwork functions before you lose everything. Please read this post and follow every single link. Pay special attention to the Terms of Service and the Red Flags on Scams from Wes.