🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Hourly rate/time tracking advice
Page options
studioconstantin
Community Member

Hourly rate/time tracking advice

Hello

I am an architect and i am used to work on a flat fee. There are now some opportunities for hourly rate contracts and i am not sure how to manage the fee and the workflow. I understand the Upwork Time Tracker even takes snapshots of your screen. The way i work is not that strict, i take breaks, i might watch something on youtube or just chat with someone while still thinking about the project or might even get a brilliant ideea during that. A creative job is hard to time-track.     

My question is what is the best way to use the Time Traker considering the above? Can i stop it everytime i dont do a job related task? Can i keep it going if i browse the internet or open my facebook while iam still working? Will the client see a snapshot of my private desktop?

Thanks !

3 REPLIES 3

I am not sure if is possible already but there should be more options in using the Time Tracker. I prefer to estimate a  time cap and manage my workflow however i want. The snapshot is really intrusive. At least to have the option to capture only specific windows/programs.

petra_r
Community Member

Constantin Eugen C wrote:

Hello

I am an architect and i am used to work on a flat fee. There are now some opportunities for hourly rate contracts and i am not sure how to manage the fee and the workflow. I understand the Upwork Time Tracker even takes snapshots of your screen. The way i work is not that strict, i take breaks, i might watch something on youtube or just chat with someone while still thinking about the project or might even get a brilliant ideea during that. A creative job is hard to time-track.