🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Hourly working as an Artist
Page options
akriti0412
Community Member

Hourly working as an Artist

Hello there! I am a freelance artist and I would like to have more understanding of how does hourly contract work for an artist because there are times I would be working manually, or drawing on other devices, an Ipad. I do have the time tracker installed on my laptop but how do I update them if I am not drawing on the laptop. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

You can do this however you want to do it.

And however a client will accept.

Most clients allow artists to use manual time. Some do not.

Some artists never have any interest in using manual time. Some artists never use time tracked by the desktop time-tracker. Some use a mixture of both.

Some artists use special software to connect an iPad to a desktop computer and track their work with the Upwork desktop time-tracker.

The thing you can NOT do is override how the actual time-tracker software physically works. It is not a time clock. So you can't simpy start it and come back a few hours laster and stop it. It is designed to record active keyboard/mouse activity, and it will not record time segments if there is no activity (or extremely low activity).

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

You can do this however you want to do it.

And however a client will accept.

Most clients allow artists to use manual time. Some do not.

Some artists never have any interest in using manual time. Some artists never use time tracked by the desktop time-tracker. Some use a mixture of both.

Some artists use special software to connect an iPad to a desktop computer and track their work with the Upwork desktop time-tracker.