🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Let's put an end to this ABSURD bidding w...
Page options
ivydocarmo
Community Member

Let's put an end to this ABSURD bidding war!

We used to be charged from 2 to 8 connects to send a proposal. So far so good.

But now, not only Upwork is charging 16 connects to do it, but also we have to bid even more connects to have a chance to be seen by the client! I'm a top-rated-plus Brazilian translator and my fellow freelancers are bidding over 60 connects on some jobs! This is simply absurd!

Oh, and Upwork is now notifying us when a client sees our proposal, just to make it clearer that we won't stand a chance without accepting to be explored by this absurd bidding scheme.

I'm already outraged by this change in the fee system (I worked my a** off to achieve the five-percent fee and now they make me go back to the "standard" ten-percent fee? Oh, come on!) but this bidding thing is really making me mad.

How much more money will you guys take from us???

99 REPLIES 99
alexander_figuei
Community Member

I totally agree! Upwork used to be a great platform, but they are charging us more and more to do our jobs! How much more can we take?

Sorry Alexander, Upwork is not forcing anyone to waste connects foolishly. People who don't even read the job posts before sending an offer and who are stupid enough to bid ridiculously amounts of connects are doing so because they want to, no one is forcing them

Sorry Luce,

But Upwork should not allow boosting bids.

If sending a proposal requires 4 connects, that's it... 4 connects for everyone! 

If you boost with 50 connects, and you then buy 50 connects more, Upwork is earning money. And the freelancer is wasting money. That's why they allow it, and allow also sending proposals for scammers, and allow scammers. It's Upwork's business. But it is unfair for us, the freelancers.