🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » More competitive than ever or broken?
Page options
vepa_durdiyev
Community Member

More competitive than ever or broken?

Hey there. I have been on Upwork for almost a decade and have climbed the ladder up to Expert Vetted. I have completed over 78 projects and maintained a stellar reputation. 

Upwork always was a competitive open market,  but lately, it feels like things are just getting out of control. Just consider the two screenshots below. I am not complaining, and I am legit asking for your advice. How do you keep up with this? I feel like a dinosaur competing against bots. As if I am a human stock trader trying to compete with nano-second trading bots on the NY stock exchange. 

vepa_durdiyev_0-1670628816112.pngvepa_durdiyev_1-1670628823320.png

A job was placed less than an hour ago and already has +50 proposals. And bids for the posts are already over the 200 range. Upwork doesn't even let you buy 200 connects. You need multiple purchases for that. 

It doesn't matter how excellent my profile is at this point. I am buried under a copy-paste spam and connect-whales. 

I have earned almost half a million on Upwork, and I can afford the connections. Should I join them against my beliefs if I can't beat them?

How do you stand out? How do you beat this? 

Vepa

20 REPLIES 20
Community Member

Those high bids might be from Agencies, which can purchase larger bundles. And I have zero doubt that the "basic web app" talent pool is one of the largest on the platform.

Hah, never knew that. Thanks, Jonathan. I was wondering how they bid +200, as I can max purchase 150. Connect economy is broken, needs a patch and a rebalance. Looks like Upwork can learn something from online game economies lol.

nmelssx
Community Member