🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My proposals are not getting any response
Page options
momentumcore
Community Member

My proposals are not getting any response

Hello,

I am a WordPress developer and a web designer. I submit only custom proposals to the jobs. In each proposal I make sure to define the customer problem and then suggest my solution. But I am not getting any responses. I know there must be something wrong either with my profile or my proposals. How do I know where is the gap? How do I solve this issue?

Please help.

Thanks,

Khush

9 REPLIES 9
roberty1y
Community Member

Just keep sending out proposals. You need to accept the fact that only around one in 20 - at the very most - will result in a job, at least to begin with. As you build up a job history, it becomes easier to get hired.

One reason it's so hard is that the majority of job postings (at least the ones I've applied to) result in nobody being hired. 

Thank you Robert. Not getting hired is another thing. I am not getting any responses to my proposals. That makes me think that nobody is even reading my proposals.

Khushwinder B wrote:

Thank you Robert. Not getting hired is another thing. I am not getting any responses to my proposals. That makes me think that nobody is even reading my proposals.

If you're well qualified for the job, and you write a customised cover letter showing that you read the ad, you have a good chance of your proposal being read. A lot of the replies to ads are from people who aren't qualified and write boilerplate proposals.

e825750a
Community Member

Hello,

people who post jobs have freelancer in mind when posting jobs.

Thanks,

dynastydyer
Community Member

There are a few things in your profile I'd consider:

• The "I may be new to upwork" bit can be removed. Start with "I have a proven record..."
  • The first paragraph minus the first line can get nixed. It's also New Jersey-based.
  • Your portfolio is kind of sparse. I'd add a few more things in there.