🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My state says I need to charge business tax??
Page options
tekwrite
Community Member

My state says I need to charge business tax??

I have been freelancing for almost ten years. All of my clients are out of state and I provide writing services solely by the Internet. I file as a sole proprietorship on my 1040 and pay quarterly estimated taxes to the IRS.

I cannot imagine charging clients a sales tax!

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "My state says I need to charge business tax"

This seems to be a very simplistic, reductive statement.

I'm sure you can find accountants and tax professionals who can help you with this.

Tax filing is not "one thing." There are multiple ways to comply with tax laws.

kkears
Community Member

Did you get some sort of official letter notifying you of a change? And did the notification refer to this as "sales tax" or "business tax" (you mention both)? Are you sure this isn't referring to the business taxes YOU pay as a sole proprietor?

kochubei_valeria
Community Member

Hi Ken, 

While we aren't able to provide tax advice here and you may need to talk to a tax professional about your specific situation, I encourage you to check out this help center article for general information. 

~ Valeria
Upwork
tlsanders
Community Member

Business tax and sales tax are different. 

You should be able to find all of the information you need here: https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/revenue/documents/tax_manuals/august-2022/Business-Tax.pdf

Community Member

All of my clients are out of state and I provide writing services solely by the Internet... I cannot imagine charging clients a sales tax!