🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Needing to Verify my Identity for a FIFTH tim...
Page options
3bba4d7c
Community Member

Needing to Verify my Identity for a FIFTH time?

Hello everyone!

I'm relatively new to UpWork and have only completed four jobs to date. A couple of days ago, I randomly received a message from UpWork stating that my account had been suspended due to "suspicious activity." The email said I needed to verify my identity. (This was my fourth time verifying my identity with UpWork.)

Like before, I submitted an image of my ID and sent over an image of my bank statement. This time, they sent a message and stated that I needed to join a video chat to verify my identity.

I joined the video with an UpWork representative, answered his questions, and he told me he would have to send the interview to "a different UpWork department for additional verification." A few hours later, he sent me a message via the ticketing system and said that my account was verified. He also told me "Should you have any questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to get in touch."

Well, I went back to UpWork and noticed that my account was still suspended. I messaged the representative back, explained that I was still suspended, showed him a screenshot, and asked for additonal steps to resolve the issue. He then proceeded to close the ticket without replying.

I then go back and search the open tickets and discover that UpWork has sent another message to me moments after the representative told me my identity was verified. This new message said that my account has been suspended AGAIN because of susicpious activity. Of course, the ticket requests that I go through the identity verification process again. When I click on the link, it redirects me to the UpWork homepage, but the ticket remains opens.