🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Profile ranking low?
Page options
perryjayg
Community Member

Profile ranking low?

Has anyone experienced randomly being ranked lower in Upwork as a freelancer?

I'm a videographer who's been using Upwork for quite a while, I have 100% job completetion rating, I'm in the Expert Vetted program and have 5-star ratings across the board. I used to be ranked near the top when you searched for videographers in my area, but I randomly got placed near the bottom of other videographers, some of which haven't even been active on Upwork for over a year. I'd love to hear others thoughts/opinions. Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
spectralua
Community Member

It is normal. Your 100 dont matter anymore, newbies or bots also promoted. In short, sorting is random now.

I have not so bad profile too, but able to find myself with filters only. Or from 20-30th page.

You can buy "Available now" bage, it will improve your ranking a liitle. 

Im think Upwork plan to add paid ranking for search, like boosting. Want to be found - must pay.

Dang. You'd think they'd prioritize people who have high ratings and have been on the platform for a while. 

Dear , 100 % job sucess donot mattter on profile search algorithim the profiles appears randamly 

8467c28e
Community Member

Hi Perry,

While your job completion rating, Expert Vetted program status, and 5-star ratings are all important factors, the algorithm may also consider your recent activity, response time, and other factors that are not immediately visible. Additionally, Upwork is constantly updating and improving its search algorithm, which could lead to changes in rankings over time.

Here are a few suggestions to potentially improve your ranking: