🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Scam Job Post | Be aware
Page options
helenwc
Community Member

Scam Job Post | Be aware

I'm new to Upwork and almost got scammed, until I saw previous posts on this community on how scammers are recruiting freelances. Below, I attached the Job Post, which is **edited for Community Guidelines**. I spoke to someone named **edited for Community Guidelines**. He wanted to interview either on Skype or Whatsapp. I didn't have Skype, so we messaged on Whatapp. The conversation stared to get weird when he said he will pay me directly (check or deposit, outside of Upwork). I immediately knew I was getting scammed since Upwork doesn't allow this as it doesn't comply with the ToS. Upwork already removed the job, but just wanted other to be aware. I have the screenshots of the messages and their email as the conversation started to get weird. Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Helen, 

I'm glad to know that actions have been taken against the job post. I had to edit your post because it violates our Community Guidelines

As a gentle reminder, please know that communicating outside of Upwork before a contract starts is not allowed. All pre-contract negotiations should happen on Upwork Message Center. You may read more about it here, and here.

Video and voice calls are available on Upwork. You can read up on this help article for more information on the ways to place secure video and voice calls in the Upwork Message Center.

Please also know that offering and accepting to be paid off Upwork is a violation of the Upwork Terms of Service. 

I highly recommend that you read up on the "Safety First!" section of the freelancer resources we have compiled, and these tips for avoiding questionable jobs for more information about working safely through Upwork. Let us know if you have other concerns and our team will be happy to assist you. 

~ Avery
Upwork
helenwc
Community Member