🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Time Tracker doesn't track all my time
Page options
bd47ba60
Community Member

Time Tracker doesn't track all my time

Hi there!

I am working in Customer Support via Upwork. I am getting paid for my time per hour.
So even if there is no one texting me, I am sitting in front of my computer and the tracker is supposed to track my time.
Now, I notived, that sometimes the Tracker is not taking a screenshot and is therefore not tracking my time for short periods of 10-20 minutes. Where does that come from? Sometimes i dont klick or move my mouse for a while but it counts the time, sometimes it does not. Does anyone know why and hoe to fix that?

Kind regards,

Lukas
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
shummas
Community Member

Yes. I'm a writer, and often when I'm reading some source material (usually in the first 10-20 minutes) my activity levels show up as extremely low. The time tracker records keystrokes, mouse clicks, and scroll actions to determine the activity level.

So, I've developed a habit of fidgeting with my cursor at random while I'm reading the material, to let the tracker know that I'm alive haha.

For as long as you can justify the time logged and your attention is fully directed to the work at hand, and you're on the same page with your client, it is okay to click/scroll every once in a while to avoid "inactivity".

But NEVER use any auto-clicking bots or scripts to heighten your activity level. NEVER do that. Things like that can get you banned.

Just stay true to the nature of your work and you're good to go. Also, manual hours do not qualify for Upwork's hourly protection so that's at your own risk.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
shummas
Community Member

Apparently, the time tracker does not take any screenshots during extended periods of complete inactivity. That should be the reason.