🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Time tracking
Page options
89b7332b
Community Member

Time tracking

Hi 

I have never used the time tracker before but I need to use it now for a job offer I hope to get after a test. I've downloaded the desktop app and logged into my account but my time tracker window is empty (no contracts) and there's no toggle button. Should I be worried? The massager is working fine with all previous conversations. Please Help!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Susan O wrote:

Hi 

I have never used the time tracker before but I need to use it now for a job offer I hope to get after a test. I've downloaded the desktop app and logged into my account but my time tracker window is empty (no contracts) and there's no toggle button. Should I be worried? The massager is working fine with all previous conversations. Please Help!

You can only use it after you have been hired, not when you only have a job offer. If the contract is hourly, it will appear in the tracker. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Susan O wrote:

Hi 

You can only use it after you have been hired, not when you only have a job offer. If the contract is hourly, it will appear in the tracker. 

Thank you

Hi Susan,

You were not hired for this job and shouldn't provide any work until your client sends you an offer and a contract is created under your My Jobs tab. Please note that any request for free work is not allowed on Upwork, and it is a violation of Upwork's Terms of Service.

Please check this post for the freelancer resources and tips for avoiding questionable jobs that we put together to help freelancers make decisions whether to work with a client or not. 

It is always good to communicate and politely explain everything to your client to avoid any misunderstanding. You can discuss the terms of further engagement on the contract and attempt to resolve the situation amicably.