🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Why am I being charged $81 as a freelancer?
Page options
tmcris
Community Member

Why am I being charged $81 as a freelancer?

I went to look at my previous payments, invoices, etc. through Upwork and found out that I'm being charged $81. I would like to know why. I used my FREE points/credits to apply for jobs and mostly have been accepting jobs that were offered to me (so no points/credits were lost). As a freelancer, I should not be charged anything. I have tried to contact Upwork and their "Get Support" tab is a joke. Any ideas or recommendations?

10 REPLIES 10
martina_plaschka
Community Member

In the transaction history you have a breakdown of all transactions with descriptions. What do you see there?

tmcris
Community Member

That I owe $81 to one of my clients. I should not owe anything. I don't even remember having a contract with this client. 

The client might have changed his username. But he can't just initiate a refund without interacting with you. What happened?

I don't know what happened to be honest. I haven't done a lot of work for
Upwork clients until last week. So now the money that I'm currently making
is being used to pay that $81. How do I go about getting this resolved? I
even tried contacting Better Business Bureau, but they can't help because
it's an employee (me as a freelancer) vs. employer situation (ie. Upwork
and the client).

You are not an employee, and Upwork is not an employer. This distinction is critical.

Yes, yes -- she knows, Im sure - that she is a contractor.
The question is "why is a client charging her $81 for a seemingly mysterious client --

Mark K wrote:

Yes, yes -- she knows, Im sure - that she is a contractor.

Apparently she does not, since she erroneously told the BBB she was an employee.

So how do I get this resolved?