cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pointless re-verify

Slawomir R Member Since: Nov 24, 2015
1 of 96

Hello,

I'm a top rated freelancer and I verified my identity last month. Now I have got the same request again.

Taking 10 minutes to do it is not a big deal, although I would prefer that Upwork respects my time rather then feeling entitled to waste it on pointless excercises.
I have passed it and it was no different then the previous one.

The bigger issue is that my account is on temporary hold and it lasts longer then 10 minutes. Upwork claims that it has up to 48 hours to release it.
I'm worried about how this is presented to the clients.

The main question is - why do Upwork even does it so often? Do you think that my identity changed within a month?

Kind regards

Slawek

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 96

Slawomir R wrote:

why do Upwork even does it so often? Do you think that my identity changed within a month?

You have no idea how many accounts change owner in any given month.

3 of 96

I understand then that it's not about my security, but about the enforcement of Upwork terms of service, which disallow the users from selling their accounts.

That may be understandable, but it probably doesn't work anyway.

In any case Upwork should release the hold on the account immediately, not within 48 hours. That makes no sense at all. If they are willing to tilt at the windmills then that's their decision, but they should limit the impact on the people trying to earn the money for them

Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
4 of 96

Slawomir R wrote:

> That may be understandable, but it probably doesn't work anyway.

Extraordinary claims need extraordinary proofs.

> In any case Upwork should release the hold on the account immediately, not within 48 hours.