Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pointless re-verify

Highlighted
Slawomir R Member Since: Nov 24, 2015
1 of 224

Hello,

I'm a top rated freelancer and I verified my identity last month. Now I have got the same request again.

Taking 10 minutes to do it is not a big deal, although I would prefer that Upwork respects my time rather then feeling entitled to waste it on pointless excercises.
I have passed it and it was no different then the previous one.

The bigger issue is that my account is on temporary hold and it lasts longer then 10 minutes. Upwork claims that it has up to 48 hours to release it.
I'm worried about how this is presented to the clients.

The main question is - why do Upwork even does it so often? Do you think that my identity changed within a month?

Kind regards

Slawek

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Jae Sung K Member Since: Jun 25, 2017
2 of 224

I've been through the whole video interview and uploading documents process. Today I found out I can't withdraw funds and will need to upload my ID again. Can I get an explanation why a "top rated" freelancer needs to go through this process again?

Highlighted
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
3 of 224

Hi Jae Sung, 

At times, for a variety of reasons, we need to ask our users to verify their identity or other information. Please know we do try to avoid doing this repeatedly. However, as part of our ongoing work to keep the Upwork marketplace a secure place for freelancers and clients, we must reach out to users again sometimes. We apologize for the inconvenience.

To verify your identity, log into your Upwork account and click on “Settings.” In the left-hand column, choose “Identity Verification.” Follow the steps there to begin verification. For tips on correctly completing the process and details about the documents needed, click here.

-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Higgs J Member Since: Aug 9, 2019
4 of 224