🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » An hourly rate
Page options
scoopd
Community Member

An hourly rate

I am new to Upwork and have pitched myself for all kinds of jobs.However, I wonder if my hourly rate is too high. At the end of the day I have seen people getting decent money for jobs because their hourly rate adds up to a lot of work but I am wondering if my actual hourly rate is putting people off giving me the gigs.

What are people's general thoughts on this?

Thanks(In advance)

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Your profile is set to private, so we can't give you customized advice.

But as a general concept:

Yes: A freelancer's hourly rate can significantly impact their ability to be hired.

A freelancer's hourly rate may be too high.

It may be too low.

Preston H wrote:

Your profile is set to private,

It is no such thing. It is set to "Upwork users only" which is not the same as private.

Dougie, I think if anything, your hourly rate is too low, but with your credentials I'd likely leave it as is or up it somewhat and go for the bigger fixed rate contracts and not give up too quickly.

Your main problem is not your rate, it is the sloppy way your profile has been completed (or rather, NOT completed.)

In your category, not having a portfolio is likely the kiss of death. Spend a few days completing ALL the empty parts and polishing your profile, adding portfolio pieces, then set your rate at least to the other side of the $ 30 an hour mark. 

Preston, his account is probably set to 'Upwork users only', so you cannot get it from the forum directly.
Go into your Upwork account and search for his name.

Basically I can tell you, 27.5$/h for experienced audio editor without any Upwork jobs.

Answer: