🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Customer ask for additional service after the...
Page options
270d1f33
Community Member

Customer ask for additional service after the contract start

I'm a newbie on Upwork, thus I desperately look for orders and good feedbacks to start my career here. Last week I sent a proposal for a job, the customer replied me shortly with another offer of 20 bucks. He said it's a test order. I check the task, it looks really more than a test order. However, I was not too busy these days and I really need orders to boost my account. So I start to work, in actual in order to make sure I could do the task. I only accepted the contract after I finished the job. Because I have heard if the contract terminated before completion after it start, even the customer take his fund back, my completion rating will be tanked.
So I worked on the task for two days, and the work I offered to customer was totally matches his requests. And I believe I did a great job. But today I got the feedback from customer said the work is OK, but he forgot to mention something else requests in the order, and want me to add the plus information as well.
The new request is totally not mentioned on the original post, and they are not things that can be not simply solved. I feel really frustrated for this, the test order was extremely under paid, almost feel like a scam although the customer emphasised it's A TEST ORDER. Now the added request makes it even worse.
What can I do to prevent things like this happen again. Is it allowed the customer ask for additional request after the freelancer took the order? If I refuse to do so, terminate this order and refund the customer, how could I prevent the negative aftermath to my account? Does upwork have any restrictions to stop customers from doing such thing?
3 REPLIES 3
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Customer ask for additional service after the contract start?"

No.