🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How to deal with a bad client?
Page options
brittanysteiger
Community Member

How to deal with a bad client?

Hi Everyone, 

I'm new to Upwork and was really excited to get hired pretty quickly with a client who hired me to write content for a new product line. After getting started, my red flags are all going up. The initial product line (for which the client has an existing website) is not continuing. I spent about 5 hours on the initial content improvements (line review, research, and copywriting) only to be told they are not contuining with that product. They instead sent me some info for a new and different product line/branding (siimilar product in terms of they are all beauty products), for which I spent another 5 hours creating content, researching the line, competitors, etc. I submitted the copy, which the client indicated they were very happy with. A few days later I was notified that they are changing the brand again, this time with little information with which to complete the project. I also have not been paid for the 5 hours of work on the second brand image, and I never even billed for the work I prepared for the first brand. 

I've suggested that we place the contract/content development on hold until the brand is fully developed and positioned and am waiting to hear back from the client. However, I am unwilling to continue working for nothing, spending several hours writing content that is never used because the client doesn't know what product they are actually bringing to market. My time still has value, and I have other clients and potential clients, and if my content is being used to evaluate the product mix and branding, or is part of the overal product positioning considerations, I should be paid for my work regardless of whether or not its the final content utilized upon launch.