🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » I need advice please
Page options
73b20a9d
Community Member

I need advice please

Hi everyone!

I need some advice. I have difficulty in landing jobs. I have read upworks' articles about how to write my proposals and how to interview. I didn't even get to the interview yet. 

I need some advice about certain parts of my proposals, according to the articles that I've read. My field is data entry and powerpoint presentations. I don't have any prior work experience at all. I am a comlplete newbie. But I do know the ms office programs. I feel a little discoaraged if I look at all the professionals' profiles in my field with so many years of experience.

How must I write my propasal if I don't have any proof to show I can get the work done? I can't gain experience wihtout getting hired somewhere.

Thanks in advance.

10 REPLIES 10
sullivanliz
Community Member

Data entry is super competitive, is there anything else you can do? If not, keep trying, eventually you should land something, and consider upskilling.

I had a quick look at your profile, I'd take all the stuff about your lack of experience out of there - no-one wants to hear that apart from scammers. Don't mention it in your proposals either. Remember, you're the solution to your clients' problems! Don't give them reasons not to hire you. If you can do the job it shouldn't matter that you have limited working experience.

Final thing, your profile picture is lovely but I'd consider switching it for something more 'work'. I'd try a simple headshot, plain background, smiling but not laughing.

feed_my_eyes
Community Member