🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » I worked without a contract, and now client i...
Page options
9bd2f16f
Community Member

I worked without a contract, and now client is ignoring my messages to pay.

I worked with this client without a contract on Upwork. He agreed to pay me after the work is done but I have not gotten any pay yet and he is not responding to my messages even when he is online.

I know I made a big mistake without suggesting a contract with him but I'd like to know if I should cut him off or if I can be helped by Upwork without violating the rules.

I got the job from a Job proposal he posted on Upwork. I applied and I got a message from him. That's how we started working together. I originally thought a contract was on, but when I checked there was nothing like that.

I'm new to Upwork and I'm still trying to learn how this works.

2 REPLIES 2
9bd2f16f
Community Member

Hi Goran,

I worked with this client without a contract on Upwork. He agreed to pay me after the work is done but I have not gotten any pay yet and he is not responding to my messages even when he is online.

I know I made a big mistake without suggesting a contract with him but I'd like to know if I should cut him off or if I can be helped by Upwork without violating the rules.

I got the job from a Job proposal he posted on Upwork. I applied and I got a message from him. That's how we started working together. I originally thought a contract was on, but when I checked there was nothing like that.

I'm new to Upwork and I'm still trying to learn how this works.

759e32fa

Hi Daniel,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Please be reminded that if you work without an active contract, you are not protected by the Upwork Terms of Service. We advise you not to start working for a client until hired through the system. A client can only pay if there is an active contract and payment is verified.