🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » New to Freelancing, need some guidance!
Page options
ba8ba56b
Community Member

New to Freelancing, need some guidance!

Hi Community! Hoping I can lean on your deep knowledge to help me with something. I am brand new to Upwork and Freelancing in general. Most of my skills are in HR/Recruiting, and I wanted to start out with something simple, resume edit/revision/format/etc. I've applied to a few proposals, and had one person reach out. They asked for examples of my work, which I provided, but then the person ghosted me. I'm feeling like I just gave away my work for free. So, my questions to this community are:

1) How do you showcase your work without literally giving away your work for free? Any best practices for a newbie?

2) What are the steps you take once someone has engaged with you about potentially starting the work?

Thanks in advance for the help!

2 REPLIES 2
ArjayM

Hi Natalie,

Thank you for reaching out and reporting these here in the Community. Please note that a real client will never ask you to give them money to start working, cash a check for them, work for free, or provide your personal information. We encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

You may want to check this help article and this thread for more information on how to stay safe on Upwork.

~ Arjay
Upwork
arko1998
Community Member

Welcome to the world of freelancing! Here are some tips to help you navigate your new journey:

1. How to showcase your work without giving away your work for free:
  • Provide examples of your previous work, but be sure to remove any sensitive information or personally identifiable information (PII) from the documents. For instance, you could provide a redacted version of a resume or cover letter that you previously edited.