🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Possible scam or UpWork deficiency?
Page options
e0cb5aaf
Community Member

Possible scam or UpWork deficiency?

Hi!  I am new to UpWork and haven't yet gotten a confirmed hire/offer.  I submitted a proposal to do proofreading and editing on a memoir which the Client liked, and after 'interviewing' said she would hire me.  I keep waiting for the offer to come through so I can accept it. 

We're nearly a week in.

The client insists that she paid the fees and clicked on the Hire button.  She even sent me a screenshot of the dialogue box that showed she had paid the fees.  I told her that I shouldn't start the work without the contract/offer.  She offered to send me the fee via PayPal.  I refused.

We continue to correspond via the approved messenger.  Lately, she has asked me to send her my personal email address so she could forward it to the third party who will be taking my work on her memoir to completion and publication.

Does UpWork take significant time to process 'offers'?

I am obviously concerned, but I don't want to walk away if this is a 'platform' shortcoming.

Thanks for your input.

RB

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ArjayM

Hi Rubert Bruce,

Thank you for reaching out and reporting this here in the Community. You did the right thing not providing your personal/contact information to a client without a contract being established. I can also confirm that there's no existing offer for you on the job you're referring to.

I would like to reiterate that sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork. We encourage you to let us know if you find anything suspicious has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

You may want to check this help article and this thread for more information on how to stay safe on Upwork.

~ Arjay
Upwork