🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Providing topics to blog writers
Page options
fe107b49
Community Member

Providing topics to blog writers

Hello, I'm new to UpWork.  I want to hire someone to write blogs for some of my clients' websites.  What is the typical procedure relating to this?  Do I ask them to just choose topics based on the clients' specialty, for example if it's real estate agent, then leave it to them to decide what might be an interesting topic to write about, or do I provide a subject to write about with maybe a few links to give them ideas.   What do other hiring agents here on UpWork do?

Thank you,

Irene

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
datasciencewonk
Community Member

Be as specific as possible regarding topics, outlines, etc. for the fastest turnaround times and the most precise informational result. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
datasciencewonk
Community Member

Be as specific as possible regarding topics, outlines, etc. for the fastest turnaround times and the most precise informational result. 

1cc34bde
Community Member

We managed our blog writer very tightly at the beginning (providing topics, having him send us the blogs for us to post, etc.) with the intent of moving through three additional stages.

1.  We have since moved to the point where he will post the blogs as 'pending' directly to our site, a few days ahead of the post date/time.  This allows us to reveiw the topic, the article itself, etc.

2.  The next phase will be his choosing of the topics.  We are about 4-6 weeks away from that. 

3.  The final stage will be where he 'runs' our blog.  Deciding topics and posting directly.

I know that some would say that our blog represents us to the public and we should be heavily involved but as we grow we will be adding employees, and micromanaging every single they do will just make us (poor) managers and not allow us to focus on the entrepeneurial and growth aspects of our business.

Just my thoughts on this.

tsmithninsights