🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » SIN Number
Page options
sidra14
Community Member

SIN Number

Hi,

I'm new to upwork.Currently residing in Canada as student. While filling out tax forms, is it necessary and safe to give my SIN ? 

If we don't give our sin number then what can be the consequences?

Reply will be appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8
759e32fa

Hi Sidra,

Thank you for reaching out to us. In order for you to not be charged tax by the US and for you to be able to withdraw your earning on Upwork, you have to completely fill out the tax information page. 

~ AJ
Upwork

But SIN number is an extremely confidential number in Canada and we never enter it on any website except for the government websites.

This is also my question, what if I don't feel comfortable sharing my social number with you? 

The tax rules in Canada is that you are responsible for your own tax as a freelancer and you will report your income to the government by yourself. 

Hi Elham,

I understand you are concerned about sharing this information in your Upwork account. Completing your tax information within your account is required to withdraw your earnings; rest assured that this information isn't shared anywhere else and that your information is secure. To learn more about how we protect your personal information, please review Upwork's Privacy Policy in our Terms of Service.

~ Luiggi
Upwork
9e64d951
Community Member

May I ask.. did you? I'm currently in the same boat you were. Wondering if it's safe. 

e9fa24ad
Community Member

Also curious about this. Just signed up for Upwork.
In general i've been told to never share my SIN, so it seems unsafe.

Is there any way to bypass it? Or provide some other kind of ID?

Hi Marc,