🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Trying to land first client. I'm not getting ...
Page options
v_stokes
Community Member

Trying to land first client. I'm not getting any responses on my proposals

Hello, 

I'm new to Upwork. I've carefully selected clients and spent time and effort really tailoring my proposals to them. I'm a senior writer and editor by trade and I've 6 years of experience in this industry, working across a number of national titles. I'm applying for jobs I'm more than qualified to do but I'm not getting anywhere. 

I've put a lot of effort into my proposals and can say with some confidence that they were strong and showcased my suitablity for the project. I've also put quite a bit of work into my profile, and have included my previous work in the portfolio section. Can anyone help me? Where am I going wrong? Or is it just really hard landing your first client? 

Thanks, 

Victoria 

5 REPLIES 5
colettelewis
Community Member

Victoria S wrote:

Hello, 

I'm new to Upwork. I've carefully selected clients and spent time and effort really tailoring my proposals to them. I'm a senior writer and editor by trade and I've 6 years of experience in this industry, working across a number of national titles. I'm applying for jobs I'm more than qualified to do but I'm not getting anywhere. 

I've put a lot of effort into my proposals and can say with some confidence that they were strong and showcased my suitablity for the project. I've also put quite a bit of work into my profile, and have included my previous work in the portfolio section. Can anyone help me? Where am I going wrong? Or is it just really hard landing your first client? 

Thanks, 

Victoria 

Hi Victoria,