🐈
» Forums » Clients » Request refund from freelancer
Page options
f9b87b19
Community Member

Request refund from freelancer

Hello community,

Thanks for the opportunity to present my query.

I am new at Up work.
I hired a freelancer but I was dissatisfied with his work.
I created two milestones.

I paid for the first. I asked him to release the first milestone, he said no until I pay for the second one.

I did. But when I read the output, I did discovered it was a copied text from a PDF file I had read.

I requested a refund for the second milestone, I don't think he wants to refund.
File can't upload. T426287589

Thanks a lot
Moronke
7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I requested a refund for the second milestone, I don't think he wants to refund."

You may read more here:

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211062058-Get-an-Escrow-Refund

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211062088-Request-a-Refund

re: "I paid for the first. I asked him to release the first milestone, he said no until I pay for the second one."

Moronke:

You made a mistake. This is GOOD NEWS!

It means that you can learn from your mistake and not make the same mistake again in the future.

It is always good that we, as clients, have an extremely large amount of CONTROL over Upwork contracts.

We have the POWER.

Next time you hire a freelancer using a fixed-price contract, you will not release money for a second milestone until you have received and reviewed the first milestone.

You now know that the freelancer you hired was not a genuine professional. The freelancer you hired was simply a scoundrel.