🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Help! What if Freelancer Just Didn't Listen a...
Page options
6eb25734
Community Member

Help! What if Freelancer Just Didn't Listen and Blew It?

I hired a freelancer to make a 2-min explainer. I was extremely clear through several correespondences (plus my original project description) of what I wanted, and sent a powerpoint deck as background material. The freelancer took the assignment, and messaged me multiple times that "she got it" and was excited and could meet my deadline.

I have many years of multimedia development experience and was looking to hire mostly on graphic/animation skills, which I was assured the freelancer had. I was extremely clear in saying the explainer would not use a narrator (text callouts only) and does not use text verbatim from the powerpoint. This explainer was for a very specific audience, and I asked several times in correspondence for a chance to discuss/collaborate,  I put half the agreed-upon fee in escrow - I wanted to see samples before committing to the whole job. 

When I finally got to talk to the freelancer, it was obvious that she (and her "team") had not read any of my directions (despite multiple correspondences and assurances that "I've got this."). She asked elementary questions again that I had answered multiple times in mail. She did not give me a chance to explain what I wanted, and when I insisted, she said, "let us do a script first, then see what you say." I didn't want a script -- there is no narration!! (She might have meant storyboard or outline or something else, so I was willing to go along on this).