🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Does location change will effect my Upwork ac...
Page options
nawazish-hassan
Community Member

Does location change will effect my Upwork account?

Hi, so I am at Upwork from past more than 2 years and working from same location everyday from my house. 

I am planning to visit another country with my spouse for few days or 2-3 weeks. Having said that I will want to keep working for my clients as I am doing from past few months and I don't want my vacation to effect my work. 

So my concern is if I goto another country for couple of days with same working laptop, will it effect my Upwork account in anyway? Since I am a full time freelancer, so its a serious concern for me to know this in advance. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Nawazish,

Arjay here stepping in for Nikola. We don’t have specific information about this but as Nikola mentioned, In general, if you are traveling and are away from your country of residence temporarily, you don’t need to update your location. If it does raise any flags on our end, the team will reach out to you directly. We seek your patience and utmost understanding.

~ Arjay
Upwork

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
NikolaS

Hi Nawazish,

Thank you for reaching out to us. If you are travelling and are away from your country of residence temporarily, you don’t need to update your location. If it does raise any flags on our end, the team will reach out to you directly. 

If however, you are going to be away for an extended period, such as moving some place, then you should make updates to your account location.

To update your location once you move, simply go to Settings > Contact Info and update the Location section of the page. Please make sure you have an appropriate visa type or permit to work in a country you are situated in and pay taxes accordingly. 

~ Nikola
Upwork

Hello Nikola, thank you for your response.