🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Problems With a Client
Page options
96c79f9d
Community Member

Problems With a Client

I have been a member of upwork for over 2 years now and I have multiple clients who order work from me regularly and love my work. I am a writer. Occasionally, when I take on a new client, it takes a few revisions to get exactly what they want. I know this. But I have recently taken on a client that I don't know how to deal with.

(Now this is partly my fault, as I didn't read her reviews before I started, but everyone says she is a nightmare to deal)

First of all, she sent me a bunch of information for writing an article. I did the research, finished the article, and felt like I did a decent job.

Then she comes back and says the article is terrible. She can't accept it unless I fix it.

I ask what I should fix and she says

"You know what you should fix" then "If you can't fix it I can pay you half and we can close the contract"

So I am at a loss because it seems like she wants work for half the price. I tell her no, that I'll fix it because I know there is a learning curve with clients. I revisit the article a second time and basically rewrite it.

She comes back again and says it's horrible

She says I need to fix it or take half pay.

I tell her I will fix it if only she would tell me what it is she needs fixed.

She then asks if I work for similar websites (which I do) and I say yes. Then she says "then you know why this is unacceptable"

So I begin the 3rd revision, and I ask if there are specific things she wants IN or OUT of the article. and she belittles me saying I should know what goes in the article.