🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Scammed?
Page options
51c5bc16
Community Member

Scammed?

Hello, i am about to accept a project translating 36 pages in 5 days. They will pay me 1.5k plus for this project. This is my first project and I am wondering if I should do it. 

Background: i submitted my proposal on Upwork and got a response to talk to a project manager via Telegram. After some discussion, i was given this project but when i came back to Upwork to update my proposal , the job post is removed and so did my conversation with the first person who responded to me. I asked the project manager on Telegram and he said it was normal that they removed the post once they have the freelancer.

23 REPLIES 23
bf6aa6e2
Community Member

Sure...I advice you do just igrone them

Just because you want to be scammed doesn't mean you should encourage others to get scammed too. If they want you on telegram before a contract is set up, it is a scam.

spectralua
Community Member

It is scam. Report it and move forward.

bridgewater_tim
Community Member

This one is tricky. It's not completely uncommon for a client to use Upwork to find a freelancer, but then delete the project after finding one in order to avoid Upwork's fees or restrictions, so I wouldn't say it's necessarily a scam. My suggestion would be to ask them to reactivate the project for your own protection. If they really want to work with you then they will understand and oblige. If they decide against that and you choose to move forward with them, then understand that you're taking a bigger risk and make sure you get a deposit and/or something in writing before you do any work.

Nothing tricky here. Communicating outside Upwork before a contract is in place or working outside Upwork are both violations of Upwork's Terms of Service and can get a freelancer's account suspended.