🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Something not right with job
Page options
bbf0f440
Community Member

Something not right with job

Hi I got an invite for a job and responded to it. I'm new to Upwork, so I wary of scams. When the client gave me the outline of the job, it didn't seem quite like what the job was advertised as and I'm not sure if some kind of scam against me or other fraud is occuring. The client has 2 decent reviews, but is also new on Upwork. Is there someone I can contact and show them the messages to help me?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I got an invite for a job and responded to it. I'm new to Upwork, so I wary of scams."

That is wise. Be wary. Come to the Forum if you have questions or concerns.

re: "When the client gave me the outline of the job, it didn't seem quite like what the job was advertised"

Well, that may or may not mean you are dealing with a scammer. Not every client is skilled in writing job descriptions. Sometimes people change their minds.

re: "I'm not sure if some kind of scam against me or other fraud is occuring."

You have not given us enough information to determine whether or not this is a scam or fraud.

Just having a final job description that is different from the job posting does not automatically mean something is a scam or a problem.

re: "The client has 2 decent reviews, but is also new on Upwork. Is there someone I can contact and show them the messages to help me?"

Yes.

You can discuss the matter right here in this thread.

You can't copy and paste the messages directly. But you can summarize or describe the situation and we can provide advice.

Should you contact Upwork Customer Support to discuss this job?
No.

If you know for certain that a job is violating Upwork ToS, then you may flag it. But you don't know that. So you need to discuss it here in the Forum.