🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Unfair agency advantage (400 connects boost!)
Page options
vepa_durdiyev
Community Member

Unfair agency advantage (400 connects boost!)

I am not complaining about boosting, but current dynamics are simply unfair and out of hand. As a freelancer, I am literally not allowed to have more than 200 connects, leading to scenarios where I can't boost even if I want to. See the screenshot below. Dear Upwork, please re-balance this.

vepa_durdiyev_0-1673903205492.png

Let's not turn this into a debate about how boosting is evil, etc., etc. I just want a fair playground. Same rules for everyone.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kochubei_valeria
Community Member

Hi All,

Thanks for the discussion and feedback you all have shared. I encourage you to check out this recent Product Update
as it's relevant to this topic. 

~ Valeria
Upwork

View solution in original post

42 REPLIES 42
vepa_durdiyev
Community Member

Job link for curious ones: **Edited for Community Guidelines**

And this is not an outlier. I have seen plenty in the +200 range.

the-right-writer
Community Member

Boosting is here to stay. Therefore, it should be the same for everyone. There is no way to bid as much as an agency.

That is exactly my point, there is literally no way to boost +200, let alone 400.

there is literally no way to boost +200, let alone 400.

A couple weeks ago I saw a post in this forum, with a screenshot, questioning a 600 bid.  The post was removed before there was an answer.

Well, unless they were in third place with that amount, they definitely did not fork out that many Connects in the end. The bid-too-high-early play is questionable regarding its effectiveness at suppressing interest (and thus Connects) in slot 3, but it is certainly an interesting strategy.