🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What conversion rate from a proposal to an ac...
Page options
4be91601
Community Member

What conversion rate from a proposal to an accepted contract do you have?

Hello good people!

I am new to Upwork. For the last 2 weeks I actively sent proposals. To be more specific, my stats on Upwork showes that for the last 30 days I sent 42 proposals and only 5 of them were viewed. Seems like a very poor result to me.

Whithin these weeks I experimented with my cover letter. I created a few customized templates that I tailor for every project. 

I also experimented with the first 2 lines of each proposals a client sees in the list of recieved applications, to get more attention.

I also experimented with the type of projects to apply. I DO NOT send a proposal to a project with 50+ applicants. I apply to a project with 20-50 applicants only if there is some activity from the client, meaning the client is actively interviewing freelancers. But mostly I send proposals to the projects with less than 20 applicants. Though these bellow 20 applicants projects get to the 20-50 applicants in a few hours or in a day I subbmitted a proposal.

Last week I boosted almost every proposal I sent. Only few of them get to the top, the majority gets outbit.

And yet, I can't even get to the viewing part so far. Forget about invitation to the interview or getting a contract.

I read a lot of tips here and on other websites and forums on how to get your first contract on Upwork. What I didn't see so far is there any avarage conversion rate for each category? My category is Ecommerce Website Development, highly competitve, as I can see from the avarage number of proposals for a project.

Could anyone share what's your conversion rate in general? How many proposals do you need to send to win a contract? And what is your category? 

I would really appretiate it. Thanks!  

3 REPLIES 3
clayton_sanchez
Community Member