🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Can clients ask you for a free test?
Page options
bce75377
Community Member

Can clients ask you for a free test?

Hi there. I am new to upwork. I had an interview offer for a transcription project and, after the interview the client asked me for a test. I didn't get any feedback from the client for about two weeks and only after insisting he got back to me saying that my test was a bit below the expected. They have been asking me to give them my skyope number for the conversations, which I did not provide. what do you think of this? Can the clients ask you to do a test for free? Thanks. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Can clients ask you for a free test?"

Well... They're not supposed to.

It is a violation of Upwork ToS for a client to ask a freelancer to work for free.

That includes asking a freelancer to crate free custom tests.

Those are the rules.

But you know what?

It doesn't really matter to you.

Because you know that those "clients" who ask for free tests are just scammers who never intend to pay you, no matter what you do. They are trying to trick you into working for free. It's a waste of your time.

So no matter what Upwork's rules are, you are not going to fall for this trick.

This is what I recommend:

Tell the client:

"George: Thank you for your interest in working with me. Yes, I can do the test work that you described, as soon as you hire me with an hourly contract, to pay for that work. You can limit the if you want by setting the maximum number of hours. You can even set that to  just one hour. As soon as you click the 'Hire' button, I will accept the contract and work on the sample."

Then:
If the client hires you, that's great. You get paid for your work.

If the client doesn't hire you, then you will go to the job post and use the "Flag as inapropriate" to report the client/scammer for "asking for free work."

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member