🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Deaf freelancer who uses video relay services...
Page options
abenjm
Community Member

Deaf freelancer who uses video relay services for phone calls

Good afternoon all,

I'm a new Upwork freelancer who is Deaf/hearing impaired. I use video relay services (VRS) to allow me to have phone conversations with people. It comes with my own phone number so people can reach me and have normal conversations.

If I'm working with clients who need to make video calls through Upwork, will the Upwork call functionality allow external phone to dial in? I read somewhere that video call is provided via Google Meet or Zoom. Normally Google Meet/Zoom also include a dial-in number.

Can I use that to be able to dial in using my VRS phone number and be able to communicate effectively with my clients using audio?

I read the TOS and saw that providing phone details is not allowed but if I dial in, I would essentially be revealing my phone number.

What would you advise the best course of action for me to take? I did some research but didn't find any topics specific about using VRS in a Zoom call.

Thank you

Alex

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AndreaG

Hi Alexander,

You can certainly use the Zoom integration in Upwork Messages and select the option to dial in from your phone. Doing so is not a violation of the Terms of Service.

~Andrea
Upwork

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Alexander:

You don't need to ask for anybody's permission to use equipment and techniques which have, as their sole purpose, facilitating communication to accommodate your hearing impairment.

a_lipsey
Community Member

Alexander M wrote:

Good afternoon all,

I'm a new Upwork freelancer who is Deaf/hearing impaired. I use video relay services (VRS) to allow me to have phone conversations with people. It comes with my own phone number so people can reach me and have normal conversations.