🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » German Freelancer on Upwork - legal requireme...
Page options
5b0ae4cf
Community Member

German Freelancer on Upwork - legal requirements (Impressumspflicht)

Hi there,

I am new to upwork and I am German. In Germany, we have a law called "Telemediengesetz", which requires any business to provide their full contact information wherever they offer their services online (I linked the law and pasted some excerpts below). The law is very strict as to how and what information needs to be provided and that it has to be "directly accessible and constantly available" (= messaging contact info back and forth is not sufficient). In case law, that usually means that "if you do not provide a link to your imprint within two clicks, you can be fined up to 50.000 Euro". In case law, it is even specified that the link cannot be called just "info" but it has to say "imprint" or "contact information" or something similar.

This German law applies to any platform where a business offers their services. So for example, if a German company has a profile on Facebook, they need to link to their imprint with their full contact information on their Facebook profile. The link needs to have up-to-date information and be available at all times.

I assume this law also applies to platforms like upwork, yet upwork prohibits to provide contact info in a freelancer profile. I asked support for help, but I got answers on tax questions that do not refer to Telemediengesetz. This is not about taxes, it is about legally being required to provide contact information when offering services online as a German.

Can anyone tell me how I can legally work on upwork as a German freelancer without risking high fines? Does anyone know of any incidents with "Abmahnanwälte" related to upwork and imprints or can someone tell me what I can do to be on the safe side here?

Feel free to answer in German if you are German too 🙂

Thanks,

Hanna