🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » I am new to UpWork, but not new to freelancin...
Page options
68018d11
Community Member

I am new to UpWork, but not new to freelancing. I have had no responses! I need help.

I am new to UpWork, but not new to freelancing. I have had no responses! I need help. I have applied to 20-30 jobs and have not even had anyone look at my profile.  I have plenty of examples of work and have an excellent work history.  Am I missing something simple?

8 REPLIES 8
jaybopp82
Community Member

No not really.  It just takes persistence and a nicely worded proposal to land a job.  It can take months to get your first.  Hang in there, it'll eventually happen if you don't give up!

Thanks, Jason! 

Don't ever fall into the trap of believing it should take months to win work.  LeAnn: sharpen up your profile. Razor sharp.  Get yourself into the right categories that take your level of experience to engage within. Then reach out with your skills into a world that, in fact, cannot easily compete with you --  and kick the you-know-what out of your competitors.  Now.  Not two months from now.  Do it now.  Win work now.  Focus on that.

robin_hyman
Community Member

Hey LeAnne!

Welcome to Upwork!  I'm a fellow content writer and saw this job post for a content writer in the NC area:

https://www.upwork.com/ab/find-work/4608514/details/~01fb906e35d24de4cc

Additionally, here are some pointers regarding applying to projects:

* Apply if hire rate > 50%

* Apply if # of proposals are < 10

* Consider # of connects compared to budget (it just might not be worth to apply)

* Read both freelancer and client reviews.  If they are all negative...run away

* Make sure every proposal submitted is customized and address the client's needs

I would also post a few more examples of your work, preferably those that are published.  Other recommendation is to follow the Freelancing Females and Freelance Content Marketing Writers Facebook groups (if you haven't done so already).