🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Is it fraud or it's normal?
Page options
0faf1fe4
Community Member

Is it fraud or it's normal?

I am a freelance graphic designer / web designer / typist etc.. for last 10 years.

I am new to Upwork. So I started to place proposal for some typing jobs. Most of them shared either their email id or whatsapp number. Then they share the same demo video.

Then one person shared their documents. Then demanded to pay $40 for registration. It's outside Upwork. Then they inform me that they only pay outside Upwork. Then I found something non trustrable things. They told me that they have id to provide for freelancers. Then he sent me a sample card of one employee. There is the twist. In that card written Hyveword. then I started to search for hyveword. Then I found the exact website. But in one of the document they shared it's written that www.hyve.group. When I visited that website there is nothing related with typing job. Then he promising that its their competetor. But what I felt is like a copy of the original one. Becuase its only banner image they use same. This is one case.

Then I recieved other one. She also demands $60 for registration. It also I have to pay outside Upwork.

If anyone experience this same thing, please share. If I am worng or not please reply.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
pgiambalvo
Community Member

Total scams. There are so many here that yes, it is normal. Never respond, block them, and keep reporting them here as you just did. And please read this: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
NikolaS

Hi there,

Thank you for reaching out to us. I shared your report with our team for further investigation and appropriate actions will be taken according to our internal processes.