🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Proposal declined
Page options
586867c6
Community Member

Proposal declined

I am relatively new to Upwork and just had a rather odd experience. First, allow me to say that I've taught English at the university level for many years and possess editing experience. I'm also a published author and know what I'm doing. However, I just got declined for not following instructions on a job posting. I have never been accused of not following instructions before in my life. This is an untruth and unethical of the client to make this false claim. I understand if they prefer someone else (clearly that's their prerogative); however, being declined over a falsehood is quite dicey. Lack of honesty is simply unprofessional. When I first sent the proposal, the client responded, asking if I'd be willing to do a sample edit. Of course I said yes. She never got back to me. I then saw the posting again, indicating to all that she had accidentally deleted the first one. I then submitted the exact same proposal. Subsequently, she declined my proposal, making the false claim that I had not followed the instructions of the job posting. I responded to her and politely inquired what happened, so that I could learn for the future. This was unethical of her, and perhaps I dodged a bullet. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

I think what probably happened is that the client asked all the prospective candidates to do a free sample edit (It is against Upwork's ToS to ask for free work), and one of them reported her to Upwork.  Her post is likely to have been removed, or she would have been asked to edit it - hence the "accidental" deletion.  The reasons given for refusing you are probably just given in a list, and she may simply have clicked on one randomly.