🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Red flags to avoid?
Page options
77067c31
Community Member

Red flags to avoid?

I'm a new freelancer here and am still trying to figure out how this works. Is it normal for clients to request to message on Skype? Also, are written interviews common? The client also requested I provide my contact information so she can mail and email me the employment offer letter. Payment is verified but they have no hires. I would love to learn about some tips for accepting legit job offers. Thank you guys in advance!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
pgiambalvo
Community Member

This is a scam. Do not reply to them. And because there are so many scams here, it has become normal for this to happen, especially to new freelancers. Here are some great tips to stay safe: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
pgiambalvo
Community Member

This is a scam. Do not reply to them. And because there are so many scams here, it has become normal for this to happen, especially to new freelancers. Here are some great tips to stay safe: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

Thank you, Peter! I blocked them and flagged the job posting. 

That's totaly true, is full of scam here, I came to make a post to warn all of you of something that happened to me today, and I found this topic.

Upwork, you need to take a closer look and maybe put the offers under review before publishing them. Is full of people with 20 open jobs and 0 hires, full of clients who have 20 to 50 relevant proposals and 0 interviews, and of course, the scamers. This is not ok, freelancers are spending their conects and time sending valulable proposals to clients who only wants to do market research here and have no intentions at all in hirig.