🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Suspicious OneDrive link for immediate interv...
Page options
712c763d
Community Member

Suspicious OneDrive link for immediate interview

Hello Upwork Community,

I'm new to Upwork and am feeling suspicious about my first interview invite received same day as proposal submittal. The potential client has provided a One Drive link to "get interviewed immediatley". As I've read. first contact is strictly through Upwork so this says 'red flag' to me.

Also, this company doesn't have a verified payment.

Thank you for any guidance!

Deborah

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Deborah:
Real clients do not interview using OneDrive links. That is something that scammers do.

It is a violation of Upwork ToS for a freelancer to communicate with a prospective client OUTSIDE of the Upwork Messages tool.

Before an official Upwork client is in place, all communication must be on the Upwork platform.

If you thnk that there is a possibility that this client is a legitimate client, then give them a chance to do the right thing. Tell the client:

"Frank,

Thank you for your interest in hiring me to work on your project. Upwork requires that communication be done with the Upwork Messages tool until an official contract is in place. I will be happy to use the One Drive link if you will go and click the 'Hire' button now. Then I can accept the contract, and we can communicate using the One Drive link or any other method that you prefer. Until then, please feel free to ask me any interview questions you have right here in the Messages tool. We can even use Upwork's built-in Zoom if you want to."

THEN: