🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Taxes
Page options
b948fe57
Community Member

Taxes

Hi!

I'm Daniela, from Italy. I am a professional editor and proofreader. I have now started freelance work, in fact for now the accountant has not advised either VAT or a flat rate regime because for now I have not earned anything and as long as I don't exceed 4,800 euros a year I don't have to declare anything. I have now completed a project for $8 (7.20 for the upwork fee). How should I behave? Do you have to fill out the W8 form?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yup, they can - and they are actually required to, UNLESS the user completes documentation to confirm their tax status either as a US person or a non-US person. Once that's completed, Upwork may send the whole payment to the freelancer (net of Upwork fees, and if there are any other applicable taxes).

If it's a US person, once the freelancer fills out the W-9 info, taxes won't be withheld (just Upwork fees), and then the freelancer becomes responsible for reporting the income (and there may be Form 1099-K depending on amount).

If it's a non-US person, the above-linked help page explains everything.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

You have to fill out the form or else you will be responsible for US taxes.

Are you talking about w8 form?

Yes. Otherwise, Upwork is required by US law to withhold US taxes:

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211063938-Form-W-8BEN-or-W-8BEN-E

I didn't  know they could.

Yup, they can - and they are actually required to, UNLESS the user completes documentation to confirm their tax status either as a US person or a non-US person. Once that's completed, Upwork may send the whole payment to the freelancer (net of Upwork fees, and if there are any other applicable taxes).