🐈
» Forums » Support » I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED
Page options
0aaff36e
Community Member

I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED

I am very new to upwork and would like to earn some extra money. I applied for vacancies in order to work. Subsequently, 1 client approached me via upwork messages that I can take on a project on telegram. I probably thought this is how the process works. I submitted the project but was not paid. He assumes that all payment options are available and that he can choose whatever he wants. After handing in I indicated that it can be done via PayPal via Upwork. Then he said that it is not possible and is only possible via **Edited for Community Guidelines**. A link was sent to create an account and then they could transfer money. I was not aware that I was applying for a credit card. Finally I noticed that it is a credit card but you can't reach anyone, you can't cancel it, you can't reach customer service. Now the telegram clients are not responding either. So I have been scammed, I have nowhere left to go, I don't know how to proceed

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

2 REPLIES 2
da48367a
Community Member

Before you go to each platform, especially a job-searching platform, try to read their terms of use. Upwork has a policy that, as a freelancer, you should not take your communication outside of Upwork, everything should be on Upwork until the client sends an offer letter. There are a lot of scammers on Upwork, but only a few can identify them, and you might fall into their trap because you are seriously in need of a job. So sorry for the bad experience, but just understand that upwork has nothing to do with it since you took it outside.