🐈
» Forums » Support » Just had my first proposal and I want to be s...
Page options
1bd4bfa2
Community Member

Just had my first proposal and I want to be sure it isn’t a scam. I’m new!

I am new to Upwork and I had a prospective client respond to my proposal. He stated that he was impressed with my background and would like me to email my resume to his work email. The position is as a personal administrative assistant for an attorney.  

I am uncertain about sending my resume to his email outside of Upwork. Is this common practice? I have read on recommended articles provided by users that you should not interact outside of the Upwork platform as you are not provided any protection by Upwork if you choose to do so. Additionally, my resume contains personal information. 

Perhaps, I'm overthinking this! I am new and would love feedback from those of you that are more seasoned. 

With gratitude, 

Erin 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
spectralua
Community Member

Dont worry, you did all right by asking here. It is scam. Report and block.

If someone trying to connect outside (email, telegram, skype... anything) before contract started then you can be sure that scamer reached you. Also it is ToS violation.

Yep, it may be some client who dont care about rules but in any case you do not want to be banned for rules violation, right?

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
spectralua
Community Member

Dont worry, you did all right by asking here. It is scam. Report and block.

If someone trying to connect outside (email, telegram, skype... anything) before contract started then you can be sure that scamer reached you. Also it is ToS violation.

Yep, it may be some client who dont care about rules but in any case you do not want to be banned for rules violation, right?