🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » A question regarding profiles
Page options
duncanmeyer
Community Member

A question regarding profiles

Hi,

I have two strings to my bow.  First I have been editing English manuscripts for 30 years.  Second, I am an IT Project Manager with 10+ years experience.  I would like to submit proposals for both types of work.

One option is to have both reflected in my profile, but I've tried this, and it looks messy and lacks focus.  Ideally, I need two UpWork accounts, but this is not permissable (as I understand it).

It occurred to me that I might have two profiles stored as text files, and paste the appropriate one into UpWork as required for the proposal.  However this presents issues.  On the one hand I'm not sure UpWork would approve of regular and repeated changes to someone's profile - but I might be mistaken about this.  On the other hand, even if I do submit a proposal, I suspect that the proposal simply embeds a link to the user profile, so if I change it back to my other profile, the client will see this change and think WTF? - this bears no resemblance to what the job requires!

Another possible solution may be to have a very short profile listing my qualifications and some generic information, and to include all the job specific information in my proposal itself?

Has anyone encountered this dilemma before, and if so, how did they resolve it?

Regards,

Duncan

15 REPLIES 15
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "On the one hand I'm not sure UpWork would approve of regular and repeated changes to someone's profile - but I might be mistaken about this."

You're mistaken.

They don't care.

This is a reasonable strategy.

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I suspect that the proposal simply embeds a link to the user profile, so if I change it back to my other profile, the client will see this change and think 'what on Earth??' - this bears no resemblance to what the job requires!"

You are correct.