🐈
» Forums » Clients » What's the point of mediation for hourly cont...
Page options
587a9ebb
Community Member

What's the point of mediation for hourly contract?

I hired a freelancer to create an app and he promised to deliver in 100 hours. We started an hourly contract and throughout development he used various tactics to stall the development and get more hours (I'm not an app developer so his work logs didn't mean much to me). When he sent a broken app with multiple issues and broken functionality after 350 hours I filed a dispute only to learn that mediation can only help us "reach agreement" and that arbitration for hourly contracts is not available. 

Obviously we couldn't reach an agreement, that's why I filed a dispute in the first place. So the question is - what is the point of mediation for hourly contracts if it doesn't provide any remedy for broken agreements, stalling, and poor work overall? It only wasted time, as the mediation guy didn't respond for days and couldn't properly explain the process at any moment in private correspondence. But maybe that was because he didn't know much about it himself, as he initially said that arbitration is possible in our case before the freelancer corrected him (see attachment). 

I assumed that there would be more client protection for hourly contracts, considering it must bring more revenue to Upwork, while making the client more vulnerable with automatic payments. Now I see absolutely no sense in ever starting an hourly contract here. 

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

"Well... I can see in the screenshot you provided that there is a reference to this in a Help section article." - it's not an article, it's an exchange between the freelancer and our mediation "expert" in our mediation chat.